Liftoff – Friday Fictioneers 17 April 2015

PHOTO PROMPT © Roger Bultot

PHOTO PROMPT © Roger Bultot

“Dennis!! Have you been stealing sugar? – And baking soda? What are you up to? Don’t you dare enter my kitchen!”

“No Mom – I am in the attic playing rockets with Gina!”

“You gave me headache – where are my ice packs? Bought a whole bunch of it – and all go missing right when you need”

In the attic Dennis buckles up in his cockpit and signals Gina.

Looking at the lighter in her hands Gina looks up to Dennis, “Dennis – am not feeling good, are sure about it?”

“Get ready Gina – 5 -4 -3 – 2 -1 – 0 … ignition and lift-off!! Will look at you from space!”

=======================================================

*  Just in case you have been wondering – “Homemade rocket with rocket fuel and engine”

Fuel of home-made rocket.
1. Ammonium nitrate (available inside ice-packs)
2. Baking soda
3. Water
4. Sugar

Written for “Friday Fictioneers” by “Rochelle” the great story-teller !

Rest of the stories are here –

55 responses to “Liftoff – Friday Fictioneers 17 April 2015

  1. Indeed he will be looking from a long way away. Nicely done.

  2. Dear Horus,

    Interesting take on the prompt. I’m off to try out that recipe.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  3. Dear Horus,

    I can see this happening, so excellently did you portray the characters and dialog and action. It is particularly perfect for the prompt. Nice research on rocket engines. I hope they live.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  4. Oh, I wonder how many times this happened in RL. Fortunately, never in my house.🙂 The characterization is spot on, an excellent story.

  5. I’m going to try that next time I go a friends house!

  6. Poor Gina! I wonder how much altitude she got in the end.

  7. When he was ten, my brother shot a bottle rocket into a shed and caught it afire, burning up a mower and a billboard. The judge fined him and made him go to the burn unit. He always was one for arson, but I think that scared him a little.

    This is a good story. It’s funny, too.

    • Well I too was behind a number of such accident myself – though never got caught. My cousins were the only witness ! Thanks for your visit🙂

  8. Thanks for the story, nicely told… but thanks also for the rocket-recipe. Awesome🙂
    Cheers
    KT

  9. Well, it’s not rocket science….oh, wait a minute.😉
    Good piece Horus.

  10. I am never letting my 3 boys see that recipe!

  11. Those kids had real fun. Rockets are part of growing up and where do you find the ingredients? In Mom’s kitchen. Most enjoyable.

  12. Thank God that my sons didn’t build rockets inside the house. Outside? Probably did.

  13. If it were my kids the sugar would distract them enough from further mischief . Nice fun read.

  14. I guess you have another Darwin award nominee..🙂

  15. I have several friends from years ago that might have attempted such a stunt as children, but I’m pretty sure all of us would have been wise enough not to attempt liftoff from an attic window.

    Good plot, Horus. You gave me a chuckle.

    Cheers!
    MG

  16. Interesting story. Will let you know if the rocket recipe works or not.;)

  17. Brilliant. It does look rather like rocket exhaust, doesn’t it?

  18. Oh dear, kids will always find a way to blow things up. Great story.

  19. Ha! This is so the mind of a child.🙂

  20. My father once did something like this. He blew up his mother’s kitchen.

  21. Interesting write up…liked the story.

  22. Oh! …And the ice packs…ammonium nitrate. It may be fun to set up, but I can’t imagine the kids getting out of it without at least horrible burns…😦

  23. I enjoyed your story. Unfortunately, I can see that happening for real!

  24. Interesting interpretation of the prompt, and the dialogue is very realistic.

    Not sure Dennis will be in any shape to look down on his sister from space…but he made a valiant effort!

  25. I always thought that would work too. But for some reason, here I am ….

  26. Smart kid but maybe the next take off will be towards the hospital. Nice one.

  27. I used to teach Chemistry – you’ve reminded me why I gave it up!

Leave a Reply

